miss our old rivalries

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• miss our old rivalries

I understand the need to go d1 and think it will work out but I still feel sad that a lot of our old rivalries have gone away.  When I graduated in the late 50's from SDSU and moved to Sioux Falls it was always so much fun to go to games in Brookings which I can still do.  But what I miss and I am going to miss are all the times I took some of my kids and friends at different times and drove over to Mankato or Omaha or up to Grand Forks and other driveable places and just saw some terrific fb and bb games.  Other than going to Fargo there just aren't going to be any teams I am going to be able to get to in the Big Sky .Way too expensive for a retiree to fly to our new destinations.  So while it will be neat to be in one of those conferences it is still sad to lose those wonderful experiences of going to out of town games with my kids over the years.  I know we will develop new rivalries over the years but I won't be able to afford to fly to those games and they are too far for me to drive.  Hopefully we will get a good tv package one day where I can watch our fb team play out of town.

Re: miss our old rivalries

sdman:

I agree with your message as I have stated somewhat in the past. When I mentioned that I will miss seeing the Jacks in Mankato and the like, I was roundly chastised for being selfish for such a desire and for lacking the desire and wherewithal to fly off to Davis. Be warned, my friend, you will now face the wrath of this board.

Comment

There is nothing wrong with missing the old rivalries. Every SDSU fan should miss the old rivalries and games that are close enough to drive to. If they don't they are kidding themselves.

As long as you are supporting the teams and SDSU now, that's all that matters.

I'm sure overall, there will be less close games. But I think this year has been very exiting already.

- SD State scores on the ESPN ticker