Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Petition the Board of Regents

OK, hear me out.

The policy of only renewing coaches on a year by year basis is antiquated, and needs to be shown the door.

This worked when everyone was a DII school or smaller.

The truth is, the move to DI put us into the big time, and we need to compensate our coaches in a similar manner.

The thought of losing AJ, just because someone else could offer him a multiple year deal is ridiculous.

I'm not volunteering to write this....maybe someone with more experience in the writing field could(rather than this old coach), but... I would sign it.

Who's with me?

Re: Petition the Board of Regents

Until we can start raising the money to pay more...why would a coach want a multi-year contract? If I was an SDSU coach who is getting paid near the bottom of what D-I coaches are paid (I assume that is the case), then I think I would prefer to have in my bargaining toolbox, the implied 'threat' that I may walk after any one year. I think for the short-term, our coaches are in a better bargaining position to seek more substantial raises until our pay rate is comparable to other highly successful mid-majors.

I wonder how many state schools have a similar prohibition on multi-year contracts. Anyone know? I suspect we aren't the only state but that is only my unsupported gut feeling.

Comment

I agree there needs to be a change in the policy and as soon as possible, and I second the motion for any (legal) action to help convince the board of regents this policy needs to be changed.
      If you think nobody cares about you, try missing a couple of payments.
      - Steven Wright

Comment