Hypothetical Annual BBall Game

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hypothetical Annual BBall Game

This is my first post here at SDSUfans, so I thought I'd start off with a curiosity based question for the posters here. I apologize if this has been discussed before. To begin with, I'll state that I am a SDSU student, and that I have also asked this question on the cowboys forum, WyoNation. Responses there ranged from genuine interest, some interest, and your usual BS of "We have nothing to gain, etc." So here's the question:

If there were to be an annual game in Rapid City, SD against Wyoming, A) Would you as a fan have interest in this matchup? B) Would you as a fan travel and pay to watch this game more years than not? C) Do you think that the Jacks would have good fan support at the game in general (2000-4000 Jack fans at the game being very good attendance)?

I ask because I am a student at SDSU and this is an idea I've had for a while and I am curious if Jacks fans would see any interest in an annual matchup of this kind. These are the specifications that seemed to be the only way this could ever happen:
    1) Play the game before Christmas, but after finals are over for each school. This would allow for students who live in the areas surrounding to be that much closer to the game, in addition to k-12 schools also being on break.
    2) Create a trophy for the game, to hopefully create more interest and fan support.
    3) Play the game in the Rushmore civic plaza (capacity 10,000).
    4) Try to get a national carrier such as Fox College Sports or ESPNU to carry the game. This is unlikely to happen, especially in the first few years, but it could be a possibility. If it were played at the right date, no bowl games would be competing for tv time. This probably wouldn't happen, but they've certainly televised less intriguing matchups in December.