No announcement yet.

Jacks take six of 11 All-Conference Academic Awards

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Jacks take six of 11 All-Conference Academic Awards


    ​​​​​​A total of 11 Summit League cross country student-athletes, five men and six women, have been selected to the 2021 Academic All-League Team as voted on by a panel of Faculty Athletic Representatives and Sports Information Directors from the league's member institutions. Student-athletes were chosen for the accolade based on their academic and athletic performances this past season. South Dakota State paved the way with six total selections.

    The 2021 Female Championship MVP of South Dakota State, Leah Hansen, received the honor for the second straight year, while teammate Anna Donnay was named to the all-academic team for the third time in her career. North Dakota State’s Kelby Anderson, the 2019 Female Championship MVP, also earned the award for the third time in her career. Cailee Peterson of SDSU and Abby Ripperda of South Dakota received the honor for the second time in their careers, while North Dakota’s McKenzie Burian rounded out the women’s team.

    ​​​​​​SDSU, who won the Summit League men's championship for sixth straight season, was represented by All-Summit League first teamers Ben Olson, Tom Breuckman and Daniel Burkhalter. Olson and Breuckman earned the accolade for the second time in their career, while Burkhalter received the award for the first time. Zach Haire, who earned first-team all-league honors after a fourth-place finish at the league championship for St. Thomas, also earned all-academic honors. South Dakota second-team honoree Charlie Babcock rounded out the men’s team.

    To be eligible for the Academic All-League team, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.30 (on a 4.0 scale), completed at least one full academic year at the current institution and participated in 50 percent of their team's competitions.

    ....(to read the remainder of the article, go to the Summit League website: )