retirement.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• retirement.

I am rather new to the retirement investments and such. I have just been noticing that even as the market is suppose to be getting better, a lot of retirement accounts are losing money still. I am in a fidelity retirement lifecycle fund. Even though I am still young(30), I have only been able to put 3% every pay check and 2% employer matching because take home pay is tight so I can’t really put too much in to the account at this time, I am currently in a tradition pretax, but was thinking about switching to a roth option.

I talked to the "experts" provided through work, but felt more confused after talking to them. So I am just wondering what have other people been doing for their retirement savings? How much are most people putting aside? I would assume my tax structure is low so paying taxes now on a roth savings account I think might be a switch I could make. Also I was thinking of putting some of my contributions into a multisector bond fund and keep half in the lifecycle fund.

I am not looking for advice per say, but just to see what other people have been doing or thinking with their retirements. I didn't think I would care much about retirement (because I feel young, but will probably have to work for the next 40 years…..sigh) accounts until I noticed my year to date return on mine is losing money, so I thought, I might want to learn a little more about this and hear what regular people think, not just the so called experts.
    "The most rewarding things you do in life, are often the ones that look like they cannot be done.” Arnold Palmer

Don't sweat the petty things, and don't pet the sweaty things.

Re: retirement.

Buy lots of beer, drink lots of beer, recycle cans, put money into lunch box, bury money in backyard.....repeat.When you retire, dig up lunch boxes, and live the dream.
    LET'S TAKE A TRIP TO BIRDLAND! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68-6O2mJhMw

Comment