Brookings Area Thriving

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brookings Area Thriving

Here is an interesting article about how fast Aurora is growing in the Brookings Register (https://brookingsregister.com/articl...on-the-prairie). It got me thinking, I graduated from SDSU in 2013 and I have 3 friends and their spouses that already own houses in Aurora, a co-worker that commutes all the way from there, and a friend currently living in Brokoings building a house in Aurora as well.

SGS (http://www.sgs.com/en/news/2017/03/b...s-south-dakota) just built a brand new facility combining office space.

A new Comfort Suites (http://www.sdsucollegian.com/news/ar...845b5d785.html) hotel and convention center is being built in Research Park that will accommodate visiting teams and just as importantly, visitors and researchers related to the higher academics of SDSU.

General Mills (http://www.argusleader.com/story/new...sdsu/87975458/) has moved their oat breeding program to Brookings.

Here is a recent Inside Keloland (http://www.keloland.com/news/article...ings-boutiques) about the Brookings economy.

None of the stuff I linked includes the all the new building SDSU has done academically, institutionally, and athletically. Seriously, not many communities provide as much support for their University as the community of Brookings does (http://www.ksfy.com/content/news/SDS...420766883.html).

Daktronics continues to swallow up more land east of I-29, and Larsen's, 3M, and First Bank & Trust still remain as the backbone of the town. I haven't heard how Bel-Brands is doing, but I assume no news is goods news.

I personally have a friend from hs who moved to Minneapolis for college, and after graduation moved to Brookings to start up her business and another who moved to the state of up north originally after graduation from SDSU, but, along with his parents relocated the family business from our hometown in the Jim River Valley to Brookings.