Lawyer Advice Needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lawyer Advice Needed

I need to make a quick change to my will. Its a pretty basic document that I paid $75 to have prepared 8 years ago. I need to change the guardian of my children before I go on a trip Friday. What is the best way to go about doing this. Can I just change the document with a witness present or do I have to have something re-written.

Thanks
    "The purpose of life is not to be happy - but to matter, to be productive, to be useful, to have it make some difference that you have lived at all."
    -Leo Rosten

Re: Lawyer Advice Needed

I'm not a lawyer, but it sounds like you better not go on that trip!

Seriously though, I'd think as long as you have a witness (do they have to be a notary public?) you would be able to change it anytime.
    "Life is short so make sure you spend as much time as possible arguing with strangers on the Internet." - Person

Comment

That was my thought there rowdy. Could I just get a notary to do it or do I have to have another method
      "The purpose of life is not to be happy - but to matter, to be productive, to be useful, to have it make some difference that you have lived at all."
      -Leo Rosten

Comment

Changing Your Will

(Advice which is worth what you've paid for it, I'm sure . . .)
        "I think we'll be OK"

Comment

Call a lawyer where you live.

Comment

Originally posted by JackJD View Post
            Call a lawyer where you live.
            That sounds like lawlery advice to me...
            “I used to be with it. But then they changed what it was. Now what I’m with isn’t it, and what’s it seems scary and wierd. It’ll happen to you.” — Abe Simpson

Comment

Originally posted by SF_Rabbit_Fan View Post
              That sounds like lawlery advice to me...

I'm sending him a bill.

Comment

kinda what I was expecting if I saw a lawyer first. That's why I came here, and whattya know, the bill is still coming.