• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Register gets new Sports Editor

http://www.brookingsregister.com/fe_...d=77&heading=0

Let me introduce myself

Posted: Wednesday, Aug 8th, 2007

If you have been reading the paper the last couple of days, you might have noticed a new name popping up every now and then. I suppose it’s about time I tell you who I am and what I do.

My name is Brian Polski (pronounced POLE-skee), and I started last Tuesday as the sports editor here at The Register. I came from Burnsville, Minn., which is a town 25 minutes south of Minneapolis, and I called it home for nearly my entire life before I moved to Brookings.

Even though I’m from Burnsville, I attended nearby Apple Valley High School and while I was enrolled I ran cross country and track. I was later recruited to run for the University of Minnesota Duluth and eventually made it my college choice.

Four quick years later, I graduated with a bachelor’s degree in communications and received my minor in journalism from UMD.

The last eight years have been nothing less than a mixture of hard work and good memories, and I never regret a single minute.

Having been in Brookings a week I have come to two conclusions. One — things here are undoubtly different from the life in suburbia that I’m used to. Two — that is certainly not a bad thing.

I have found that Brookings can be almost like Canada, in that things are different, but nothing you’re not used to.

Like Canada, I have observed that the people are extremely nice and outgoing. In fact, on my first visit here I was having trouble finding a place to stay and local couple from Volga kindly offered me their basement until I could find a place to live. . . . (read more)

Go State!

Re: Register gets new Sports Editor

Is he going to be your beat writer?

Comment

Originally posted by bisonbacker View Post
      Is he going to be your beat writer?
      BB,