Dakotadome

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dakotadome

I've been looking at some new pics of the new seats they're putting up in the DakotaDump. Now I am an avid hobbyist of stadium design (I spent 3 years in architectural drafting school and another three years in architecture at NDSU), I don't have an architecture degree, but I do know a lot about stadium/civic facility construction, access codes, design parameters, etc. And I saw a recent new pic of the seats they're putting in there. And I remember one SDSU fan on this board some time ago saying that there's no freakin' way that that place has more than 8,500 seats. Not only do I agree with that fan, I think he should change his number of 8,500 to 8,000.

Think about this: I do not know the exact number of rows on the main side of that facility. I've heard the term "28th row" being mentioned over on the Yotes board, I do not know if that's the last row, I'll be nice and give them 30 rows of seating. But not all 30 rows go from endline to endline. There are notches of sections taken out in the top corners. Let's assume that with an average seat width of 18 inches, that 200 seats are in a row for the first 13 rows below the entryways (The Romans used to call them "vomitoriums", no lie), that makes 2,600 seats in the lower section of seating. Let's reduce the seat number of rows 14-30 from 200 seats to 150 due to the reduced length. That gives the upper section 17 x 150 seats, or 2,550 seats. There will be seats taken out due to entryway space, I'll be nice and take away only 50. That's 2,500+2,600, that's 5,100 seats. I do not know if the area above is just a press/coaches area, or if those are also suites. Either way, I will be even more generous and say that there are 5,500 seats on their main grandstand.